Compilation CDs don’t always go out of their way to have a point (besides flogging you a stack of recent radio favourites). Many are dedicated to certain time periods like the endless stream of ‘80s collections. In the case of “1”, you get 58 tracks on three discs, representing the music video generation from around 1978 to 2006.
The Pop, Rock, Hip-Hop, Rap, Vocal, Alternative, Breakbeat and Boyband songs selected cover a variety of big names. Everything from Madonna, The Police, Dire Straits, U2, Cher, Alice Cooper, Fleetwood Mac, Phil Collins, Prince, Foreigner, James Blunt, The Killers, Outkast, Duran Duran, R.E.M., Alanis Morissette, Dr. Dre, Meatloaf, and Jane’s Addiction are here. As well as Coldplay, k.d. lang, Björk, Coolio, Muse, Take That, Eric Clapton, Beastie Boys, Hole, Limp Bizkit, De La Soul, Moby, Pussycat Dolls, Kiss, Simply Red, James Morisson, Faith No More, Nelly and more.
Purists may however find it a shocker to listen to Britney Spears sandwiched between Fatboy Slim and Tori Amos(!).
The diverse selection does represent a wide range of bands and artists, but naturally cannot claim to be the definitive representative for the vast three decade period it covers, with a few obvious omissions being Pink Floyd, Bob Marley, Metallica, Michael Jackson and Depeche Mode. But as is customary with compilations, they often become a series, so don’t be surprised if more chapters in the “1” series pop up on a regular basis. All-in-all a fine package, also available on DVD with 40 music video clips (some not featured on this CD set).

5 / B
- PB

1 2 3 4 5 6
A - B - C

click below for the "1" DVD

6 - Volcanic
5 - Blistering
4 - Hot
3 - Smolder
2 - Room Temp.
1 - Fizzled
0 - Extinguished

A:Multiple Listening Potential
B:Deserves Another Spin
C:Once Should Suffice

© 2001-2009 Flamedrop Productions