DEPECHE MODE - Sounds Of The Universe

It’s always a pleasant surprise when DM releases an album, mainly because one is guaranteed that it will not disappoint and breathe some much needed life into the constantly stagnating pop world. With Sounds Of the Universe they dig back into much of their previous audio adventures with many familiar moods unfolding within these (lucky) 13 tracks. Principle composer Martin Gore accumulated a lot of old-school synthesizers and equipment which got utilized on these recordings, adding to that familiar sound of the past. Their dark, alternative take on pop songs is well in tact, and some grind a bit grittier while others take the lighter road. Over the years singer Dave Gahan never had much input when it came to writing songs, but of late Gore has become less precious and here Gahan contributed three of his very competent tunes. Stand-out songs include Wrong, In Chains, Hole To Feed, and Miles Away / The Truth Is.
They’ve come a long way, and for the hope of popular music, they’ll continue their journey for many years to come.

5 / A
- Paul Blom

1 2 3 4 5 6
A - B - C

click below for more Depeche Mode on CD & DVD


6 - Volcanic
5 - Blistering
4 - Hot
3 - Smolder
2 - Room Temp.
1 - Fizzled
0 - Extinguished

A:Multiple Listening Potential
B:Deserves Another Spin
C:Once Should Suffice

© 2001-2009 Flamedrop Productions