ROGER WATERS - Flickering Flame (The Solo Years Volume 1)

The bitter
Pink Floyd split is well known to most. Without Waters' voice, the band just isn't 100% Floyd. After a serious disillusionment with the band's tangling with fame, fortune, excess and the dehumanization it can have as effect, an altercation with a crazed fan shocked Waters immensely and it led to the creation of their masterpiece, The Wall. His enlightenment and consciousness flow through into his solo work as he comments on the human condition and its self-destructive nature, so clearly illustrated in Too Much Rope. A promoter of peace, Waters inevitably created songs like The Tide Is Turning and Each Small Candle. Then there are Three Wishes (with a noticeably South African woman's voice-over), 5.06am (Every Strangers Eyes), Who Needs Information and Perfect Sense part I & II (with its 2001: A Space Odyssey sample of HAL being disconnected). Then there are other favourites like (the more modernized pop feeling of) Radio Waves, as well as a cover version of Dylan's Knockin' On Heaven's Door. A new demo, Flickering Flame is included while the original demo version of Lost Boys Calling close up the album. As you may have noticed, this is Volume 1 - thus songs like The Pros & Cons Of Hitchhiking are not included, yet. Waters has a unique style: not quite rock, nor pop. His songs are scenes to be experienced and seen with your ears, further enhanced by spoken sound bytes elaborating on your imagination; a strong gospel feeling is also present in many of his songs (especially due to his back-up vocalists) as well as blues moods and ambient atmospheres. Roger Waters' music is not only great to hear, but also has substance to it, relevant to our world as well as individuals. Intelligent lyrics and great music - what more could you ask for?

6 / A
- PB



6 - Volcanic
5 - Blistering
4 - Hot
3 - Smolder
2 - Room Temperature
1 - Fizzled
0 - Extinguished

A - Multiple Listening Possibilities
B - Deserves Another Spin
C - Once Should Suffice