SLIPKNOT - 870621345

This 9 piece gang of audio terrorists slap you square in the face and karate chops your neck before you hit the ground. Their total anarchic attitude explodes forth with everything including the kitchen sink: bass, guitars, samples, turntables, voice, “custom percussion” and a whole bucket of bile aimed at society. Giving the Nu-Metal genre a little bit more than the usual cliché, the boys from
Slipknot also put on one hell of a show with their boiler suit uniforms and varied masks. Freaky, crazy, tortured, demented and one solid goddamned wall of energy. But it’s not a mere screaming thrash from start to finish, with the aggressive explosions meeting moments of dreaming melody and harmonic voice or drum & bass waves & samples. It is also good to know the invigourating double bass drum attack has not been discarded in our day and age of the programmed beat. Aside from the 15 tracks you’re treated to another 4 songs (and 2 hidden tracks, a hacking-barfing-laughing session and a speeding blaster), pushing it well over an hour of totally groovy mayhem. Technically precise and determined as a turbo-charged steamroller, after sitting through 870621345 you’ll more than likely have your knickers in a (uuuhm) slipknot (!).

6 / A

- PB


6 - Volcanic
5 - Blistering
4 - Hot
3 - Smolder
2 - Room Temp.
1 - Fizzled
0 - Extinguished

- Multiple Listening
- Deserves Another Spin
- Once Should Suffice