Another fine collection encapsulating a specific era (and area) of SA music is BRC, making for a fine Kopskoot! companion piece. This CD/DVD set focuses on the (predominantly) Afrikaans rock music which grew from the Bellville area over the last decade or so. The story is told (on DVD) via the insightful 12 Mile Stone documentary short, 10 music videos, 8 mp3 cuts, and (on CD) 13 audio tracks. The bands emerging from this district (and their affiliate projects) include K.O.B.U.S., V.O.D (both featured on the Kopskoot! compilation), Fokofpolisiekar, Springbok Nude Girls, aKING, Ashtray Electric, Van Coke Kartel, New World Inside, 22 Stars, 7th Breed, Jax Panic and many more. Ranging from Pop and Rock, to Metal and Punk, these bands more than often have strong Afrikaans roots, but not all of the songs are in their native tongue, around 50% in English.
This is a great, essential collection also very tastefully packaged - the only downside being that the documentary on the DVD should have been longer(!), the viewer left wanting to taste more of the history. But like Kopskoot!, this should spur people on to go out and investigate these bands, buy their albums and attend their shows for the full story.

5 / A
- Paul Blom

0 1 2 3 4 5 6
- A
- B
- C

Click below for the Kopskoot! heavy Afrikaans compilation album

6 - Volcanic
5 - Blistering
4 - Hot
3 - Smolder
2 - Room Temp.
1 - Fizzled
0 - Extinguished

A:Multiple Listening Potential
B:Deserves Another Spin
C:Once Should Suffice

© 2001-2009 Flamedrop Productions