BRUCE SPRINGSTEEN – We Shall Overcome: The Seeger Sessions

Springsteen got acquainted with the music of Pete Seeger when he recorded a track for a Seeger tribute album. He researched the man’s music and got a whole new sense of what American folk music is al about with its frontier tales, human hardship and its function as entertainment, be it on the porch, on the road or in a tavern. Bruce was inspired to breathe new life into these classic songs and together with an assembly of unplugged musicians playing fiddle, upright bass, banjo, accordion and a brass section, they assembled at the Springsteen farm and set up in the lounge to record these timeless tunes. Springsteen’s gravel voice is perfect for these songs, the live takes capturing the true spirit of the songs. They include Old Dan Tucker, Jesse James, O Mary Don’t You Weep, John Henry, Erie Canal, My Oklahoma Home, Pay Me My Money Down, and a song everyone knows, We Shall Overcome. Some of these songs even migrated to our shores, many converted into Afrikaans tunes like Buffalo Gals (which I know as "Hondjies Is Hondjies Wat Aanhou Blaf") and Froggie Went A Courtin’ (better known as "Die Padda Wou Gaan Opsit By Sy Nooi In Die Vlei"). The bonus DVD features a modest little documentary on the making of the album, and includes the PCM Stereo mix of the full album, plus the bonus tracks Buffalo Gals and How Can I Keep From Singing.

5 / B
- PB

1 2 3 4 5 6
A - B - C

click below for more Bruce

6 - Volcanic
5 - Blistering
4 - Hot
3 - Smolder
2 - Room Temp.
1 - Fizzled
0 - Extinguished

A:Multiple Listening Potential
B:Deserves Another Spin
C:Once Should Suffice

© 2001-2006 Flamedrop Productions