With the popularity of Celtic Woman (and theme songs from movies like Lord Of The Rings), the genre seems to have regained some mainstream appeal. This collection of 19 tracks cover a wide expanse of acts, the female vocal most effectively utilized in conveying its mood. The above mentioned Celtic Woman opens the compilation, followed by two very obvious choices, Loreena McKennitt and Clannad. Mike Oldfield has infused many styles, Celtic folk influences one of them, thus his addition here. Deep Purple guitarist Richie Blackmore’s more traditional project Blackmore’s Night is also included. Two less apparent ones however are that of Feargal Sharkey (She Moved Through The Fair) and The Waterboys (Fisherman’s Blues), but it’s apparent once you hear it. This tranquil and often moving collection also includes the likes of Mary Black, Daniel O’Donnell (Oh Danny Boy), Fiona Kennedy (Riverdance), Orla Fallon, Chloe Agnew, Christy Moore, Brian Kennedy, John McDermott (Battle Hymn Of The Republic) and more. A lovely, unobtrusive, even mythical album, great for those who prefer a chilled out, as opposed to manic end-of-year.

5 / B
- PB

1 2 3 4 5 6
- B - C

6 - Volcanic
5 - Blistering
4 - Hot
3 - Smolder
2 - Room Temp.
1 - Fizzled
0 - Extinguished

A:Multiple Listening Potential
B:Deserves Another Spin
C:Once Should Suffice

© 2001-2007 Flamedrop Productions