IDLEWILD – Soundtrack

For their first feature film the
Outkast duo of André 3000 (André Benjamin) and Big Boi (Antwan Patton) chose to head back to the hopping prohibition era for a tale of money, love, entertainment and hoods. This album is more of a standalone project as opposed to a standard, with allusions and references made to the movie. Some of the tracks are modernized for the album, and the tunes morph that Outkast style with others, from soulful grooves, jazzy and bluesy moments to honky-tonk flavoured piano and brass backed cuts. There are some female guest vocals and a full Macy Gray track. The closing song stops short of 9 minutes and is a very moody instrumental which crescendo’s into a trippy vocal mix. The 25 tracks contain several skits like the album’s opening bit of a British actor condemning the rappers for fronting as thespians - naturally he gets put down. Some dialogue clips from the movie also turn up.
André’s flamboyant presence and vocal accomplishment sets this act apart from other generic Rap/Hip-Hop groups - Big Boi is more of a cliché, but the two balance it well.

4 / B
- PB

1 2 3 4 5 6
- B - C

click below for more Outkast


6 - Volcanic
5 - Blistering
4 - Hot
3 - Smolder
2 - Room Temp.
1 - Fizzled
0 - Extinguished

A:Multiple Listening Potential
B:Deserves Another Spin
C:Once Should Suffice

© 2001-2007 Flamedrop Productions