MARY J. BLIGE – The Breakthrough

Coming to grips with her demons,
MJB offers up an album of versatility, slightly veering off from the overblown cliché course. The R&B beats and styles have not been discarded, though, but the album contains more of a mature air. Guests include Brook, Jay Z, Raphael Saadiq, and Dave Young. A Black Eyed Pea cannot be left out, so makes a turn. Mary also does a version of One with its creators U2 in on the deal. A bonus track, So Lady, rounds it all off.

4 / B
- PB

1 2 3 4 5 6
A - B - C

6 - Volcanic
5 - Blistering
4 - Hot
3 - Smolder
2 - Room Temp.
1 - Fizzled
0 - Extinguished

A:Multiple Listening Potential
B:Deserves Another Spin
C:Once Should Suffice

© 2001-2006 Flamedrop Productions