As a disciple of good ol' balls to the wall Rock 'n Fuckin' Roll, Slash has survived the success and excess of one of the last century's biggest bands, Guns n' Roses, moving on to forming other cool bands like Velvet Revolver. His hard rock Gibson Les Paul guitar sound and style stands out like a strip joint's neon sign. On this album he pulled in a high profile list of singers to add vocals to his music. They include everyone from legends like Ozzy Osbourne, Iggy Pop, Motorhead's Lemmy, and Ian Astbury (The Cult), Myles Kennedy, Kid Rock, Adam Levine (Maroon 5), Rocco DeLuca, M. Shadows of Avenged Sevenfold, Andrew Stockdale of Wolfmother, as well as Nirvana and Foo Fighters' Dave Grohl together with Slash's lifelong band mate Duff McKagan.
The biggest disappointment (which could've been a great redemptive return to form after his dismal foray into pop shit with Timbaland) Chris Cornell delivers a performance which is mediocre at best, making it seem like he's lost the fire (which can luckily still be found in Soundgarden and Audioslave releases past). On the other hand, one of the extremely surprising highlights (kicking Cornell's ass) is Fergie (from Black Eyed Peas) ripping it up with one hell of a great rock attack. Don't be surprised if she comes out with a rock flavoured solo album (which she really ought to do, because it will be a great addition to the female-fronted rock cause, and also help her shake the cheap BEP pop pandering of late).
A star studded album orchestrated by the guita-slinger with the top hat.

6 / A
- Paul Blom

1 2 3 4 5 6
A - B - C

6 - Volcanic
5 - Blistering
4 - Hot
3 - Smolder
2 - Room Temp.
1 - Fizzled
0 - Extinguished

A - Multiple Listening Prospects
B - Deserves Another Spin
C - Once Should Suffice

© 2011 - Flamedrop Productions