STRAPPING YOUNG LAD – 1994-2006 Chaos Years

Not enough people are aware of this Metal powerhouse which exploded from Canada in the mid-‘90s. Unfortunately they called it a day, but I’m sure frontman and mastermind Devin Townsend will have some great projects coming up set to yet again change the world perception of what “Metal” is (as he’s been doing with his solo releases in tandem with SYL). So, if you’ve never heard of Strapping Young Lad (which consists of four guys by the way), this is your chance to experience the majestic, technically brilliant, and heavy-as-hell intensity of this killer band in one package. Each of the five albums consists of a maniacal collection of superb songs, making selection for this 17-track slab of history quite hard. You also get track-specific notes from the band on each track in the album sleeve. This is timeless Metal at its best, and if you missed out on seeing SYL’s killer Download Festival show at the X Fest Extreme Music Film Festival (, the bonus DVD includes that and all their promo video clips.

6 / A
- Paul Blom

1 2 3 4 5 6
A - B
- C

Click below for more SYL


6 - Volcanic
5 - Blistering
4 - Hot
3 - Smolder
2 - Room Temp.
1 - Fizzled
0 - Extinguished

A:Multiple Listening Potential
B:Deserves Another Spin
C:Once Should Suffice

© 2001-2009 Flamedrop Productions